Virginia State Facts and Symbols

Virginia became the 10th state in 1788 and is the 12th largest state by population with about 8.5 million residents. It is also the 37th largest state by land and water area with a total area of 42,774 square miles. Virginia Beach is the largest city in Virginia with a population of approximately 433,000 people.

The state of Virginia, often referred to as the Mother of Presidents, has the distinction of being the birthplace of more U.S. presidents than any other state. Eight U.S. presidents, including four of the first five, were born in Virginia: George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, James Madison, James Monroe, William Henry Harrison, John Tyler, Zachary Talor, and Woodrow Wilson.

Virginia is one of four states which consider themselves to be a Commonwealth. The other three are Massachusetts, Kentucky and Pennsylvania. A State and a Commonwealth are considered to be the same and equal in regards to their status in the United States of America.

Included below are more facts and symbols, a state map and views of the Virginia State Quarter.

Virginia State Flag

Virginia State Flag

Virginia State Facts

Virginia State Capital - Richmond

State Slogan - "Virginia is for Lovers"

State Motto - "Sic Semper Tyrannis" (Thus Always to Tyrants)

State Flower - American Dogwood

State Tree - American Dogwood

State Dog - American Fox Hound

State Bird - Northern Cardinal

State Fish - Brook Trout

State Insect - Tiger Swallowtail Butterfly

State Bat - Virginia Big Eared Bat

State Fossil - Chesapecten Jeffersonius

State Shell - Oyster

State Boat - Chesapeake Bay Deadrise

State Folk Dance - Square Dance

State Beverage - Milk

Virginia State Map:

(Click or tap for a larger view)

Virginia State Map

Virginia State Quarter

Virginia State Quarter - FrontVirginia State Quarter - Back

United States Mint 50 State Quarters© Program coin:
(United States Mint Images)


US State Facts © MCGWDD